FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > Politics > Fuel duty - do prices go down at 6pm today?

Fuel duty - do prices go down at 6pm today?

Jump to: Newest in thread

By (user no longer on site) OP     over a year ago

So, how does fuel duty work exactly?

Mr Sunak says it decreases by 5p per litre from 6pm today.

Does that mean my local garage will reduce their price by 5p per litre at 6pm today?

Is fuel duty applied at the point of retail sale or at some other point in the chain?

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *ercuryMan  over a year ago

Grantham

Thats the plan. See how fast the petrol stations react.

By *ighty_tightyMan  over a year ago

Norfolk/Suffolk

I'm not sure

Is it the duty applied when they buy it or when they sell it?

As far as I can find out, duty is paid / charged when the fuel leaves the refinery, but I'm not an expert on these things.

If this is correct, then we won't be seeing cheaper petrol tomorrow morning unless you're lucky enough to buy from a petrol station who has just received a delivery which left the refinery after 6pm tonight.

Crikey, that's complicated.

I think I'll ask about whether VAT is charged on the fuel duty amount (tax on tax) another day.

By *ercuryMan  over a year ago

Grantham

My local asda has already reduced by 6p this afternoon.

"My local asda has already reduced by 6p this afternoon. "

This has been noted, especially since Walmart, Euro Garages etc. Maybe the brothers are realising that supermarkets are hyper competitive?

By *abioMan  over a year ago

Newcastle and Gateshead

"My local asda has already reduced by 6p this afternoon.

This has been noted, especially since Walmart, Euro Garages etc. Maybe the brothers are realising that supermarkets are hyper competitive?"

This is why I waited to see what was going to happen.. I will fill up the car tomorrow..

By *ostafunMan  over a year ago

near ipswich