FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > Has someone ever challenged you about something and didn’t know you were an expert

Has someone ever challenged you about something and didn’t know you were an expert

Jump to: Newest in thread

By *usman 199 OP   Man  over a year ago

Stockport

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *ranny-CrumpetWoman  over a year ago

King's Crustacean

Not exactly challenged. A really nice man was mansplaining the design of a roof on a local building , telling me that it was made that way so as to resist high wind. He was making lovely gesticulations with his hands and arms until I said ...... Oh yes , the design seems to have incorporated Bernoulli's Principle ..... and he ended his demo.

Like that do you mean ?

I'm no expert but men do like to explain as if they are your daddy or you are thick.

By *anBerksMan  over a year ago

Berkshire

Ah yes, at work where someone tried to belittle me in front of a group of peers until I systematically and categorically disproved all of their claims and backed it up quoting the exact industry standards that should be applied and why.

They tried to make me look an arse, but only succeeded in making themselves look like a total unknowledgeable twat.

I love moments like that!

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

I have worked in my industry for 20+ I would never claim to be an expert bur tend to know my stuff.

I do get a lot of this is how you should do it. I tend to listen and take it in but just leave it at that

Not directly.

Few instances when working and people are discussing materials selection and they quite clearly have no clue what they're talking about. I butt in and they scoff at my suggestions, saying I'm wrong. That is until I show them I was the lead on the research for the very issue we are discussing and the conclusions for selection are now globally accepted as the standard to follow.