FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > Solar panels

Solar panels

Jump to: Newest in thread

By (user no longer on site) OP     over a year ago

Anyone here with experience of the buying of them and using them?

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *hocmanxMan  over a year ago

Birmingham

I'm currently studying electronics so I've done a bit of research into this.

Basically the government wants you to have them so there are schemes and discounts all over to help you get them installed.

Overall they're definitely worth while. You'll save on your bills and any power you don't use you can get money for because it feeds back into the grid.

I'm gonna stop now before this turns into an essay lol

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

They certainly save you money, but they can be very noisy when heavy rain or hail hits them.

By *wingerdelightCouple  over a year ago

eastliegh

"They certainly save you money, but they can be very noisy when heavy rain or hail hits them."
plus they look horrible.

By *ittle_brat_evie!!Woman  over a year ago

evesham

"They certainly save you money, but they can be very noisy when heavy rain or hail hits them.plus they look horrible."

The tube ones do but the flat overlook ok.

OP look at the local irradiance level for your area as it varies in different parts of the country. I'll look up some websites later.

The recent changes to the FIT mean they aren't quite as lucrative as before but you will still earn some money. You cam get rent a roof schemes where a company lays foe them to be installed, they take the FIT and you just get the free electricity.

You may also benefit from the green deal but take up hasn't been that great as its quite confusing!!

I sold them for a while.