snapchat

Jump to: Newest in thread

By (user no longer on site) OP     over a year ago

More good news for the UK

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By *oi_LucyCouple  over a year ago

Barbados

"More good news for the UK "

Potentially. The UK has a fantastic creative and IT industry (I'm a bit biased, I work in it). And one of the reasons brexit is such a concern is that this is an industry that relies on cross-border working and business. It will be very interesting to see what happens with things like VAT when we leave the EU as the recent changes to VAT have forced a lot of small businesses out due to increase in red tape. The changes by the EU of the 'place of supply' for VAT caused a lot of trouble in this industry for small players.

Snapchat is loss-making, so there won't be any tax revenue from them for a while. So the corporation tax rate (or lowering of) is not that relevant. They do say they may employ some engineers here, they already have 70 staff here. They are currently advertising for jobs, but most of which are legal and accounting. Which makes me believe that we might end up with another Starbucks-like scenario in which they claim no profits here.

-Matt

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

Exactly so it isn't really any good news at all.

Just like the FTSE 100, basically none UK Companies doing well on paper due to them reporting in Dollars vs a ravaged Sterling yet their main bulk of profit / production is outside the UK anyway so we get very little gain from them.

this is a good report on the FTSE 100 VS FTSE 250

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/ftse-100-record-high-why-pound-value-crash-brexit-a7502401.html

"More good news for the UK